6 Things You Need To Learn About Disaster Recovery On Oracle Cloud Capabilities

Oracle Cloud refers to a cloud computing service that provides servers, applications, storage, network, and services through managed data centers in a global network. These services are provisioned on-demand via the Internet.

Migrating apps, such as PeopleSoft to Oracle Cloud, Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) software, and analytics software, offer tons of benefits, including simplified and streamlined business operations, long-term cost-effectiveness, and security disaster recovery. 

Learn more about disaster recovery on Oracle Cloud Capabilities by reading below. 

1. Regions and Cloud Domains 

Far distances separate the infrastructure involved in implementing disaster recovery on Oracle Cloud. Deployment of applications across different regions reduces the risk of specific, region-wide events, including earthquakes and harsh weather systems. Thus, disaster recovery is a lot more successful. 

In cloud computing or networking, domains pertain to any group of devices, printers, computers, database servers, workstations, and users sharing different types of data through network resources. Oracle Cloud domains govern all basic domain functions and manage network security, including disaster recovery. 

But how about the domains? How are domains structured for seamless disaster recovery? Here are the two types of domains management through the Oracle Cloud: 

Availability Domains: Data centers are established within a geographical area. Within a region, availability domains are interconnected by an encrypted and low-latency network. 

The availability domains are fault-tolerant that are isolated from each other or independent, which is close to impossible to fail simultaneously. In short, they don’t share the same physical infrastructure (e.g., cooling and power). For this reason, a failure in one availability domain won't impact the rest. 

Fault Domains: This refers to a hardware infrastructure and grouping within each availability domain, containing three fault domains. To avoid being dependent on the same physical hardware, resources are properly distributed. 

If a hardware failure or maintenance event occurs in one fault domain, it won’t affect the other fault domains' resources, which is highly beneficial in disaster recovery. 

2. Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute

Oracle Cloud service doesn't just provide bare-metal machines, but also virtual machines for computing, greater performance delivery, greater control, and flexibility. It’s powered by internet-scale infrastructure that’s designed to develop and run even the most demanding workloads and applications in the cloud.

Here’s some good-to-know info about Oracle infrastructure computing: 

Compute instances, also known as computing hosts, are deployed across several availability domains or even fault domains. This is done to protect software and applications from outages. 

Compute instances are a type of object-oriented programming that can be launched to meet computing and application requirements. For example, bare-metal computes host that gives dedicated physical server access for better performance. 

Fault domains should be specified when creating compute instances. This is one way for Oracle to ensure that only one fault domain is affected at a time. 

Distributing compute instances across several fault domains leads to higher availability, allowing users to share custom images across regions and tenancies by using the image import and export feature.

3. Block Storage Volumes

It provides a reliable data copy to complete disaster recovery within the same geographical area. Oracle Cloud service dynamically provisions and manages block storage volumes. This involves creating, attaching, connecting, and moving volumes to meet application and storage requirements.

4. File Storage Service

When migrating apps or databases to the cloud to meet the application and user requirements, Oracle provides a scalable, well-distributed, and durable network file system. 

Regular backups of the file system's snapshots are important in disaster recovery, which is one of the best capabilities of Oracle Cloud. 

5. Object Storage Capability

An Oracle Cloud Infrastructure service is described as a high-performance, internet-scale storage platform that provides reliable data durability. This service is safe, secure, and cost-efficient, allowing to retrieve data directly via the internet or the cloud platform. 

This enables seamless scaling without any decline in performance or affecting the reliability of the service.

6. Storage Gateway Capability

With Oracle Cloud, you’ll be able to connect on-premise applications and databases. Files and traditional applications are migrated to the archive storage of Oracle Cloud in compressed or uncompressed zip files or archives. 

For a seamless cloud experience, using a storage gateway enables data from traditional apps to be easily recovered. 


Now, you’re more knowledgeable about how disaster recovery works on the cloud. With the different Oracle Cloud infrastructure and capabilities discussed above, transferring files from traditional apps, software, and databases to the cloud is faster, more secure, reliable, and seamless than its counterparts. 

With availability domains and fault domains used, there's no chance of site-wide impact or failure. The good combination of Oracle Cloud services provides businesses seamless cloud migration and disaster recovery. 

Post a Comment